It’s not my life’s goal.

Are you looking forward to receiving a pension?

It’s not the place I want to spend the rest of my life.

I have a lot of goals that I want to achieve while I am still young enough to enjoy them.  Like Travel especially Cruising which my wife and I have enjoyed very much. Mind you! this is not the only goal. There is a great big world out there and at my young age of 71, I want to see and enjoy a big part of it.

This doesn’t mean that my wife and I are not enjoying ourselves at the moment because we are.  We live in Australia and are full time House Sitters and we have been doing it for nearly 7 years. Our sits ranging from 4 days to 3 months and at this stage most of our sits are re-sits.

House sitting animals and security.

We look after all sorts of animals and when there are no pets which happens on occasion, we are there for security.  There for the security of lots of beautiful homes and destinations in New South Wales and Queensland.  So far, we have only spent two months in late 2017 in Queensland.

My wife and I don’t have our own home at this time. When we have time between sits which is usually not very long.  Unless we organize extended time with family or connecting with friends.

We decided to start doing House Sitting after we had decided to move closer to our daughter and her family.  They are living 400 Kilometers away from us. They found it difficult to travel that far to see us due to their work.  We decided to move closer and rent a house within an hour and a half from them.

Positive move.

While we were thinking about it we received a call from a friend who suggested that we try House Sitting.  We spent a few days thinking about it and our friend rang back.  She said that she had a House Sit that she had booked for nearly a year and at the last minute she could not do it.  She suggested that if we wanted to, we could do it if she could arrange it with the Homeowners.

The owners were agreeable to the change, and we decided to do the sit and see how we felt.  It was Near Manly in Sydney in January, and we enjoyed it very much. We decided to do it on a permanent basis.

We live in the house as our accommodation for looking after the animals or the home for security purposes when there are no animals.  The thing that we did not expect like the rest of the world was Covid 19 and its appearance at the beginning of 2020.  We in Australia were in the midst of devastating fires after a long dry season.

Obsticles along the way.

There were big changes for us from then on.

At the end of January 2020, I had a heart attack and seven days later having a triple bypass.  During those few days the rain came, and the fires were extinguished, and we were starting to hear about Covid 19.  Ten days later I was out of hospital and by that time we could not go to our daughter’s place due to restrictions.

When I had the heart attack we were staying with relatives and on our way to a three-month house sit which we were starting the next day.  The house sit was postponed, and the owners got friends to fill in while we stayed with other elderly relatives.

Still moving.

We were able to continue with the three-month house sit but five weeks late and during that time things were getting worse with Covid 19.  They were starting to restrict travel and all of our booked house sits had canceled which would put us in a predicament.  We could not travel back to our usual accommodation.

We had to cut the house sit short due to soon not being able to travel and we would end up being stuck where we were.

We had made arrangements to stay at another close relative’s farm in a converted wool shed.  The relatives used to live in the shed when they bought the farm until they had finished building their own house.  They had only moved into their new house the Christmas before. It was now empty.   We stayed in the wool shed for around six weeks.

Looking for other accommodation.

Through friends in our Church, we arranged to stay on another farm which was closer to the coast and a lot warmer.

I looked into Wealthy Affiliate as an opportunity to start making an income of my own again after being a professional driver all my working life.  As we were starting the house sitting.

I would have to find work that I could do on the move and Wealthy Affiliate seemed to make sense as I could do it at any time I liked.  It wouldn’t matter where we were we could work Wealthy Affiliate anywhere.